time for a progress update!

My digital artefact itself is an Instagram page called The Indie Hub, where I have curated an online presence to appeal to individuals within my media niche. I post about new music releases, band spotlights and share a variety of related things on my story.

This genre of music is rising in popularity both on and offline, and I myself am a very big fan, so it was easy for me to develop a persona within this niche.

I think through undertaking an autoethnographic approach to my media niche and my digital artefact, it has been fun and simple to create posts. Since I am an audience member in the niche of Aussie/Indie/surf rock music, I know that if I create content that appeals to me and I would enjoy, that others in the niche would feel the same way. This is why I felt it was so important to undertake research and understand the niche as an audience member and truly indulge myself in it, so I could relate to my audience and curate my online persona accordingly.

My original field map of my media niche

As well as my ethnographic approach, the use of outside sources and secondary research has also been effective in not only understanding my audience and their needs, but also finding information to help create content and build on my knowledge.

After acknowledging my own research, my autoethnographic study, my epiphanies I’ve had along the way, and the feedback from my audience as well as the commentary from my peers, I am confident I am producing unique and innovative content that appeals to others within my media niche. I plan to keep using what I have learnt to continue creating content, on a consistent schedule of 1-2 posts a week and keep engaging with others involved in the music genre!

You can follow The Indie Hub here:

https://www.instagram.com/the_indiehub/

3 thoughts on “time for a progress update!

  1. Hey Phoebe! You seem to have done thorough research on this niche. I personally never knew this was even a thing so I’m glad you have done the research 😊.
    What stood out the most for me regarding your progress and plan was the fact that you have nailed the quality over quantity theory. I think posting only a few times a week and working with the Instagram algorithm will definitely help and showcases the research you have done.
    One thing which I suggest is possibly posting 1 post on Tik Tok a week or 1 every two weeks just to diversify your online persona and possibly divert traffic from another social media platform. The reason I say this is because I did it recently and have found there to be more engagement on my own DA Instagram page.
    Overall, the beta video and post were easy to follow and kept me engaged! Hopefully more bands interact with your content!

    Like

  2. Hey, it’s me again!

    I just finished looking over you DA and your ig account and I’m really impressed with the progression from the Pitch till now! You have really sculpted out a solid online presence and account. The fact that you cater your posts to the Instagram algortithm is incredibly smart as it ensures that your posts are being presented to as many as possible and you have as big of a sample size to work with come the final report.

    Also heading into the final task it could defintely be useful to have a thorough look at Spotify and see what playlists with songs from your genre are trending the most, from there you could base posts on the popular artists, tracks and albums you find. This would probably be most useful coming into the final weeks of the task and accumulating as much final information as possible.

    You’re clearly really aware with the persona you want to portray as well as the epiphanies you’ve experienced however you could back it up with readings and info you’ve gathered from lectures just to get your point across that little bit more.

    All in all though this is a great project and I’m wishing you the best of luck heading into the final weeks! 🙂

    Like

  3. Hi phoebe !
    Great beta. Will fit in great with the environment we are in now, knowing so many locals that would find this so so interesting as well as useful !
    your progress is amazing, and looking back from what you have grown from your initial plan has been great. A really smooth and precise idea. Insta is a fantastic platform, but one suggestion might be to cross share your content. So perhaps making a tik tok or sharing it on twitter with create more of a audience for you creation. I know now that the place i seem to be finding more and more things has been via Tik Tok so could be a great advance to DA.
    I think your idea is great, and will be so useful for those over summer wanted to find and newest and the best music within that genre.
    If you manage to get to any gigs, it might be worth while taking a cool video to back up your insta content, letting people know your a fan yourself and are engaged fully with the content your are sharing. Might be a more persuasive approach to engaging with your audience and making it known that your content is 100% legit and something you’re passionate about.
    Such a great DA, best of luck! And ill be sure to check out your insta updates.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started